and the Madsens sweep the podium!!!!

                                

I live with two of the most powerful cyclists I’ve ever known… and a 2 year old (she takes the bronze daily but we anticipate her medal run to end by the time she turns three). 

My other two have been cyclists most likely since the day they were born… if not before, as evidenced by erratic behavior and posturing in Abigail inutero. (No lie, we have her on sonogram video.)

More recently, they’ve been cycling at top speed, for almost two years now. My previous thought was not that this race had no ending (our previous “races” show to end, allowing my cyclists some natural rest) but that there was no prize, no reward, and no “upside.”

It’s heading nowhere and fast even despite therapies, medications (oh, man the medications!!!), dietary and sleep regimens, vitamins, and all the loving support in. the. world.

My cyclists just keep on going. Up and down, round and round. And round. And round.

Often times, they cycle so fast, in circles around me, that I don’t even know what hit me until the day after a long, horrible weekend when I’ve consumed way too much chocolate, done way more shouting than necessary (or was it?) and been so exhausted I’ve been asleep on the couch at 4pm each day.

But, perhaps I am wrong. Perhaps my cyclists deserve a prize – a medal even, of the gold and silver nature, for being such determined, capable athletes. For sure the reigning world champs from 2011 and without a doubt the favorite for gold (Abigail) and silver (Sean) in 2012 Olympic style.

They are athletes who perform spectacularly with very little training, often against their will, but are able to still function daily to the point that most reading this will be surprised to learn how much time they spend cycling.

It’s one of the most persistent, efficient, and determined things I’ve ever witnessed actually, impressive, even, when I can get far enough removed from the fall out and stress of it to appreciate.

See, my cyclists are hardcore. They compete, sometimes as teammates and sometimes in direct conflict with each other, just like the mailman: come rain, sleet, snow, sun, hell or high water…. They cycle. And cycle. And cycle.

                  

That’s me on the ground.

Leave a comment