A Wet Diaper on the Bedroom Floor

One morning, I found a wet diaper on the bedroom floor. I know you all just cringed. You probably wrinkled your nose. And you probably related in some way to one thing or another that your husband does that you think is just unacceptable.

And in the past, I probably would have proclaimed that gross, and literally trashy and been all up in arms about how rude, disrespectful, nag, nag yadda yadda… Basically agreed with you all. Maybe even have called or texted him even though he’s at work to harp on him about making my day harder by me having to clean up after him.

Um…. A verse comes to mind.

Let there be no filthiness (obscenity, indecency) nor foolish and sinful (silly and corrupt) talk, nor coarse jesting, which are not fitting or becoming; but instead voice your thankfulness. Ephesians 5: 4

Now I realize that this most likely means to voice your thankfulness to God, which I do, and did, but I think it can also be applied to voicing thankfulness and appreciation to my husband.

And more importantly, I need to recognize here that a wet diaper on my bedroom floor is something specific to be thankful for.

To understand that strange, weird, gross concept, let’s think about what this wet diaper on the floor really means.

It doesn’t mean my husband doesn’t love me and wants to disrespect me by leaving trash on the floor. It doesn’t mean he secretly wants to enrage me or make my day harder by creating more housework for me. It doesn’t mean he doesn’t understand me and my control issues surrounding housework. It doesn’t even mean his ADD was kicking and he forgot he put it there the second his fingertips left the velcro tab.

Here’s what it DOES mean.

First of all, it means my husband changed a diaper, (because I don’t throw them on the floor and we are the only two diaper changers in the house).

My husband changes diapers. That’s right ladies, be jealous.

Second of all, the diaper was in our bedroom…which means, my husband changed it in the middle of the night…

…Which means the baby was up.

…Which means he also made her a bottle.

Now, as I am picking up the diaper, it’s 7:30am and I have just woken up, the baby is also asleep, still asleep from the night before, so that means…

Ladies get ready to swoon:

My husband got up with the baby in the middle of the night (probably 3am per her infant ways), changed her diaper, made her a bottle, fed her, burped her and put her back to sleep…

AND NEVER WOKE ME UP.

 Really, that’s the important thing to focus on here: I got an uninterrupted full night’s sleep. Thanks to my husband. And all I had to do was grab a diaper off the floor and toss it into the trash on my way to get breakfast.

3 thoughts on “A Wet Diaper on the Bedroom Floor

  1. Jennie…

    So beautiful how you turned it all around to see the true meaning behind that diaper. Great man you have there!

    hugs to all of you from way up here!!

    t

  2. It’s really amazing how a small shift in perspective can change our entire outlook. That wet diaper also means you have a healthy baby girl. One more thing to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

